38 years and counting

I fell in love with the movies when I was seven. It was the summer of 1977 - and like nearly everyone of my generation the film that changed my world was Star Wars. I've lived through Saturday Cinema Club, Betamax & Laser Discs -but going to the movies, to sit in a crowd (normally I'd hate that) in front of the big screen - it truly is magical.
I've grown old with Bond, I can (& might) write a thesis on why Christopher Nolan's Batman Trilogy are cinematographically perfect - but I can honestly say Star Wars (& it was just Star Wars then, 'A New Hope' wasn't added till later) was a life changing moment - suddenly the world of a child's imagination was there on the silver screen- better in fact, and not in a childish way (winner of 7 Academy Awards), but done for audiences of all levels, I can remember how excited my Mum was too. Serious & fun - good & evil - quite possibly the greatest bad guy of all time & the coolest small green dude ever - suddenly anything seemed possible. The power of the movies hasn't faded since.

Roll forward 38 years, years in which I'd guess I've seen the original trilogy literally dozens of times, even tolerated the prequels, and Disney promise fans the sequel we've all wanted since 1983. Everyone I know was nervous - but tonight I sat and watched a truly wonderful continuation of the saga. I don't know if a film could now wow an audience to the same level again - but I do know that I and all the other 40somethings were grinning from ear to ear by the end - visually stunning, well written, inventive & respectful to its heritage. Roll on Episode VIII

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.