Beeeze

By beeeze

I spied a fly

I don't have much luck with insect blipping, it's something I really need to work on. But while H and I were at the garden centre this afternoon getting Roy a harness - don't ask we saw this minuscule hover fly. I carry the Coolpix in my handbag so whipped it out and had a go. Not bad I think. Certainly the best insect blip I've managed so far, despite leaving my glasses at home so I wasn't sure if it was properly in focus (and a lot of them weren't!)

I'd have liked the opportunity to use the Lumix with the macro lens but didn't think to take them with me.

I bought a beautiful lavender while we were there. Lavender is up there in my top five favourite plants, I love everything about it - the colour, the scent, the way it grows giving you a beautiful cloud of blue above the dusty green. The only thing I don't like is the latest fashion for putting it in food. Gak. That is the most wrong thing from the planet of Wrong.

Day centre for Ma today. I baked cakes for the Dementia Café who were meeting up today as I'd promised. However when I promised to do this the Aga was lit and working. So this morning was a mad baking panic using a table-top oven. You get used to being able to shove several cake tins in at once because Aga ovens are quite deep, so doing one at a time is a bit of a shock. The desk fan had to be employed in the end to cool things down quickly enough for the icing to go on without sliding off. I was supposed to be making fairy cakes but a twelve bun cake tin won't fit so I did two square cakes (carrot and Vic sponge) which were cut into 16 pieces each.

And now I have to make another carrot cake because H is sulking :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.