Re-Discovered 101

I was looking for some old drink coasters today and found them eventually as well as my first ever camera which I bought with my first ever pay packet. Circa 1969-70. What joy!
I could only find 3 lenses for it; a Rokkor 50mm 1.7 and a Rokkor 28mm 2.8, the other is a cheaper Tamron zoom 85-210 4.5.
As there were some missing lens caps and with everything covered in dirt and dust I was not that hopeful all would be in working condition. I think I used it last in 1978. The original beautifully made leather case was nowhere to be found, nor were the filters and other accessories. All long gone unfortunately.

To my surprise and after several hours of tender love everything seems to have cleaned up wonderfully well. Everything working as well as ever and as smooth as silk! The test will come when I process the first roll of film. Finger's crossed all the seals are good and there is no light leaks. But these cameras were so well made that I am sure all can the restored to excellent working condition.

Can't wait! Tomorrow I will visit a few select camera stores and stock up on some nice B & W film [maybe some colour, perhaps, may be but not likely].

Let the fun begin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.