The 'Nieuwe Markt' (Square), Amsterdam

Woke up late.  Hubby was not feeling good, as has always been the case every time we go somewhere, doesn't matter where.  He always needs a day or two to 'get used' to something, what exactly I'm not sure of.  He is what we call a COPD (combi asthma-bronchitis-emphesema) patient and his lungs have to accustom themselves to the air in any strange place, 'strange' being defined as anywhere other than home.  After a not so super breakfast, he went up to rest some more.  It was only in the early afternoon that he thought he was okay enough to go out.  No problem with me at all.

We took the bus to town and walked about.  I wanted to see Rembrandt Plein as I just had to find out what was so special about it.  Took some shots, of course, and all throughout our entire walk as well.  Came across this cutey castle and I really cannot imagine how I could have ignored it on previous visits.  Maybe because on a beautiful sunny day, which today was decidedly not, there are just so many tourists and locals milling about and posing on every imaginable corner that I simply didn't see it.  Today, though, I had it almost all to myself.  This building is actually called the Weigh(ing) House.  You can read all about it here -- http://www.amsterdam.info/nieuwmarkt/

Then we had to return to the hotel because I had forgotten the printed voucher we needed for the canal boat tour.  At work, instead of taking home a 'kerstpakket' or Christmas box, we were given the chance to choose our own gifts online.  I chose a canal tour.  We had to be at the docks at 16.30.  The tour of the Light Exhibition started at 17.00.  It lasted about 1hr20min.  After that, we went to an Italian restaurant where we had a free dinner, this time courtesy of the Bank Lottery.  All in all, quite a 'cheap' day, don't you think?  Haha!  Very Dutch!  And we didn't even get to use the entire cheque.

Anyway, hubby ended feeling not so great again, so we had his pizza wrapped up.  I really wasn't feeling so happy about things but, as we promised, 'in sickness and in health'.  Back at the hotel, we watched a bit of television and then tried to go to sleep ... only to be woken up at about 22.30 by the hotel alarm and the PA announcement that everyone had to leave the building and not to use the stairs.  What an evening!  Everyone went out, some even barefoot.  We had taken the trouble to put on our boots and coats and scarves and I quickly snatched up my camera and wallet and the all-important hairbrush and put them all in a bag, which we carried outside with us.  After about 15 minutes, we were given the all-clear to return to our rooms.  Many think someone had tried to smoke in his/her (bath)room.  Whoever that was must have learned a lesson.  At least, I hope so.  They will have known who did it and there will have been a 500 euro fine at check-out.

In those 15 minutes outside, it was thankfully dry but a cold wind was blowing and many of the guests had had no time for more than a coat or an extra t-shirt.  Many didn't even have any shoes on and several were visibly shivering.  I thought to myself, we only had 15 minutes or so and we knew we were going to go back in any moment.  Can one imagine how it must be for some of the refugees who spend days, weeks, maybe even months 'outside' in all kinds of weather, with no hope of shelter or food or care of any kind?  If the winter break this year gave me the insight on how lucky we have been, it was worth it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.