Darwinian Motion

I was talking to a redneck about evolution. Which was probably a mistake - but we had both had too many beers. I laid out the arguments against creationism and explained the mechanics of evolution - the way in which small mutations might confer slight advantages and so would be passed on down the genetic line and, over the course of countless generations, lead to significant changes. He was following me, nodding occasionally, but then he said "But how do you explain Angels?" I thought about this and gave it as my opinion that the traditional idea of Angels just wouldn't work - no evolutionary links to other species - they were just too isolated.

"If we DID have Angels, they wouldn't have arms and legs AND wings. Maybe their arms would have become wings? Or they would be more like insects than people? That would work..." I pictured an ArchInsect Gabriel, buzzing over Bethlehem.

The redneck considered this and nodded. And, from the sleeve of his down jacket, there dropped a single, silver feather that landed in a puddle of spilt beer where it sat, glimmering, between us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.