Fall afternoon on campus

I have done the computer end of the student elections at the U for the past 13 years. Today was my last since I retire in 4 months and 5 days. I will miss working with the students and this has always been one of my most pleasant parts of my job. This shot was taken as I walked across campus to look at one of the polls. Campus is really beautiful this time of year.

It was a truly awful day. I volunteered to stay in my job an extra 6 months to get a project done. The staffing has been cut by attrition from 4 -> 3 -> 2 (at which I thought we might have a slim chance of succeeding and today to 1. There is no chance at all anymore. We are in the midst of a hiring freeze, and I have been told to "suck it up". I really didn't want to leave on a sour note and a failed project is certainly a sour note. Sigh...

I apologize to everyone for the lack of comments. Looking thru blip is one of my very favorite activities, but I have really been working to get this project to succeed and putting in long days. I guess that was pointless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.