Pink Pearl

Went to work, worked, went back home.

Grey and wet the whole day, although I can't complain as it rained only when I was either in the car or in the school building.  About 7 degrees so nothing wrong there.  An entirely different scenario in the north of the country -- black ice on the road.  Schools, businesses and government offices closed, and half of the operations in the hospitals postponed to minimize the risk of road accidents.  Power outage in some areas but not widespread.  People left their cars at home and instead skated on the roads to their destinations.  For me, relief that I no longer work in Apeldoorn.

Given the weather and time constraints, not much motivation to shoot outdoors.  I thought I might have to pull out my stamp collection again when, suddenly, the doorbell rang -- the nice young man who lives next door with his lovely girlfriend!  They brought along this pretty potted plant in thanks for the yummy mango-yoghurt cake we shared with them last week.  It was her idea as she works at a florist's in Breda.  Pretty neat, huh?  You don't want to move when you have neighbours like that.

My turn at positivity -- I hope to see you all the rest of this year and way beyond that.  If you haven't pledged because you don't know all the facts, please read the latest update from BLIP Central / BLIPFuture.  I hope the new info will convince you that it will be more than an achievement if we, as a community, manage to pull this off and save a very valuable site.  We are all making history and recording it at the same time, benefitting both us and future generations.  Please give it good, serious thought.  In behalf of my fellow-blippers, thank you!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.