carolinebeveridge

By beveridge

London Eye

Today I had an "extra" half day off work to make up for me logging on over Christmas when I was supposed to be off.  So I took full advantage and visited the Tate  Britain to see the Artist & Empire exhibition which was awesome, I attempted to go last month BUT I had one of those blonde moments and it was only as I was walking over the Wobbly Bridge I suddenly realised that I was heading to the wrong Tate and I lost momentum and couldn't be bothered.   The main reason I wanted to go was to see my all time fav (since I was a child) painting called "Cheetah and Stag with two Indians" by George Stubbs, there was also work by Thomas Baines, and the early photographers Julia Margaret Campbell and Captain Linnaeus Tripe.

My timing was good as I walked back along the river to Charing Cross just after sunset so it wasn't properly dark, although there was too much cloud cover for a blue hour. 

I was worried about seeing the painting just in case it turned out to be a Mona Lisa moment of being totally underwhelmed but thankfully nope it met my expectations and more although I knew it was big it seemed larger than I imaged too :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.