In the morning post...

The travelling British public is divided, I think, into two main classes.   Those who cruise, and those who don't.

My prejudice is not to!     This flimsy book offers cruises that sound, I admit, a little more palatable.    Small ships, Nordic destinations.    I have no desire to go on any cruise, but the least desirable in my mind are the 4,000 passenger floating resorts, bound on cruises where there are many days at sea.    The plethora of entertainment and luxury is provided to try to bring it to pass that the passenger doesn't notice.   Then, after two or three days, it's long queue time to get on the tender, then onto a bus to whirl around getting the slightest of hints as to wherever the newest stop may be.

I could spend forever saying why I wouldn't go on a cruise.   But I certainly recognise that this is no more than my biased point of view.    To those who find cruising entertaining, fun, even educational I say "Bon voyage."   And "
chacun à son goût"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.