Baby Black Slug

Baby Black Slug (Arion ater)

Well, it’s 3.30 pm and it hasn’t stopped raining all day. My blip is meant to reflect the weather. Googling informs me the Black Slug is mainly nocturnal and avoids exposure to sunlight  -  well it’s been like that here for nearly a week now!!  This baby is only 1 cm and can grow to 15 cm in adulthood, growing blacker as he ages.  I found it climbing up my letterbox this morning, but took it indoors to photograph – it went back outdoors very quickly after I got my blip. He’s not the best of house guests, and anyway he’s more at home out in the rain!  Like all other species of the Arionidae family, the Black Slug is an hermaphrodite, meaning it can fertilize itself if needed, although a mate is preferred – very sensible lol!  Hope your weather is better than mineJ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.