Indy653

By Indy653

From a Railway Carriage - eventually

,Faster than fairies, faster than witches,
Bridges and houses, hedges and ditches;.............

And here is a mill, and there is a river:
Each a glimpse and gone forever!
Robert Louis Stevenson

I've always hated this poem. Even as a school child I found it profoundly melancholic.
More happily I am now on a train to Edinburgh. Sadly last night's were all cancelled and so my trip to the Turner Exhibition in Glasgow and lunch with my old school friend had to be abandoned. Luckily Ben lives in Aberdeen and he cooked a lovely meal and gave me a bed. Used the time this morning for a much overdue haircut and by the time I got to the station, amazingly, a train for the Capital was just about to leave.
Just heard Elvis Presley's birthday today. How I used to love playing 'Are you lonesome tonight?' on my cousin's gramophone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.