Foxed

A sad day for book lovers, and especially I think for Booky 

This wonderful shop is a short walk from where I work and so any spare lunch break or excuse I can find, it is often where I find myself, as I did today for a mooch around their excellent selection of new titles and cosy basement of second hand and first editions.
There was a distinct hubbub amongst the staff that didn't seem to be entirely due to the heavy discounts in the January sale; so fearing the worst I enquired.... and very sadly discovered that this little independent gem will close it's doors at the end of the month. Rising rents and business rates to blame.....!!

A definite light at the end of the tunnel though is that they will still run an on-line book selling service, and more importantly will continue to publish the wonderful reader's quarterly Slightly Foxed and a small number of cloth bound novels. If you are at all interested in reading or books in even a small way do check out their website Slightly Foxed and if you live or work anywhere near Gloucester Road do pop in before 31st January, you are bound to pick up something lovely for a song.

Edit: The blurriness is  not intentional, after having a sweaty few hours worrying that my camera was damaged, I finally realised that it was on something called miniature setting....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.