1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Surprise!

Woke up feeling rough this morning - before you all jump on the "hangover" bandwagon, I was on lime+soda's last night as I was driving!

Woke at 6ish as usual, fed the cats, took some painkillers and went back to bed. Woke again at 9.45am, with a migraine now! Took more pills and went back to sleep for another half an hour. Sav was in Frome still as he has a night shift, so no-one to make me a medicinal cup of tea ( yes, get your violins out ).

Slowly got up and about, very slowly - it was gone 3pm when I made it to the farm, where Mary and Alex were building a bridge from the coffee table to the sofa. I voiced my reservations as to its safety, but was ignored. Their parents and I sat in the kitchen with a cuppa, when, yes, you guessed it - there was a double, slowly crescendoing, wail! The bridge ( the lid of the toy box ) had collapsed and they banged heads! No blood, no breakages. Daddy, a quantity surveyor, sat them down to explain " something about engineering " but I'm not sure they were listening!

When Grandma came back from shopping we all pretended we'd been sitting quietly all afternoon and we definitely had not been building bridges and climbing on Garndma's furniture ... cough, cough!

No sooner had another round of drinks been made, than Alice ( and her mum and dad ) arrived. No of us knew they were coming up ( from Dorset ). Grandad saw this so he came in from the yard too. Suddenly the house was very full and noisy! Just how I like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.