DawnAgain

By DawnAgain

Waxing crescent

Today has been a very good day. I set off early for Winchester and arrived at the Master's Lodge (where the research students hang out) in good time. I checked in with Chrissie, the research coordinator, who gave me a reassuring bear hug and talked me through the upgrade viva process. Then I met my supervisor in the kitchen for a briefing on what to say in the meeting. My other two supervisors also turned up, including the professor who was chairing the panel, and finally the external assessor arrived. She had a pre-meeting with the professor and then the rest of us were called into the meeting room. I sat down, trying hard not to feel nervous, and was immediately put more at ease by the chair who told me that the good news was my research project was a viable one and therefore they were approving my upgrade to PhD. I had been told I would be advised of the decision either at the end of the meeting or after a break following the meeting so it was a very nice surprise to hear this right at the beginning!

Most of the next two hours involved the external assessor going through my upgrade document in great detail, suggesting improvements and the best ways of doing things; I took copious notes. At the end I got to ask questions, and then my supervisor did. Then we all signed a form confirming things, I thanked everyone, and my supervisor took me to the cafe down the road for celebratory coffee and cake (lemon and blueberry).

Despite all this positive stuff, by the time I left for home I had a nasty tension headache and so as soon as I got back I scooped the dogs up and took them off to the common where we had a lovely walk in the sunshine. They even stayed fairly mud-free.

A Sainsbury's run and some laundry later, I caught up on my emails and then photographed the moon (as you do).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.