Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Golden dragon

I captured many dragon shots today, of which this was my favorite.

I chased a small jumping spider through about fifteen feet of scrub and got nothing for my efforts, except, of course, the experience. I was not concerned about not getting a shot as I am finding more of these little beauties each day. What I do realize is that it is going to take practice and experience to do this little arachnid justice.

I also took time out to do some ant chasing. This is another difficult subject, mostly due to lighting and constant movement. I tried firing fifty shots into the crowd, but that just gets you a full recycling bin. It is not just a case of capturing an image of an ant, it really has to be doing something, carrying something, eating, interacting or posturing. This will be an ongoing daily lesson I think.

All the spiders have started mating, so at the risk of losing a few regulars, I am announcing a week of spider blips, starting tomorrow. I know from last year that spiders vanish during the dry season and so this might be my last chance. Apologies to all those that I hear groaning but it is only a week and arachnids are a major interest for me.

Let me say that again: ONE WEEK OF SPIDERS! You have been warned.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.