The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Variety ..

Almost immediately after I posted last night's blip, things took a turn for the worse.

Mum could barely stagger to the bottom of the stairs with her Zimmer and by about the fourth step, her legs buckled under her and she was stuck, sitting on the step.

For a while I could neither get her up or down stairs, but eventually got her back down and into an armchair.

After a little debate with my sister it was decided to call 999 and let *them* decide what to do! They sent an assessing paramedic first, and he decided a trip to hospital was required as mum's blood pressure was very low (85 over 58 if that means anything to anyone) The ambulance turned up and off we went.

Mum was getting more and more distressed with all the tests, and refusing to allow the doctor to feel things and listen to things and all that sort of thing. She had a scan, bloods taken etc etc and eventually they said they'd admit her.

This morning there were lots of phone calls from a variety of hospital people .. and I was a bit depressed to hear that she would be sent home later today (she is in fact home now) I'd rather hoped for a few days break!

Meanwhile -  I had a taste of being a fox rescuer - Martin at NFWS messaged me on Facebook asking if I knew anyone in Hull (Yes! Me!) Someone had reported a fox in a factory car park, which was barely moving.
It was literally only two miles from me. I put the trap into the van (just to transport the fox, if required)

I got there and the poor little mite was lying in the cold and wet, barely alive and twitching. He was easy to scoop up in a blanket and put into the van (photo above)

I took him to the vet. Sadly he was convulsing and had a damaged pelvis, low blood count and his back end was paralysed.

After discussion it was decided the very kindest thing would be to put him to sleep. I stroked his beautiful ears and shed a few tears.

RIP little fox.

A sad ending - but I'm really pleased he didn't die slowly in the snow ..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.