Cumbrian pastimes

Well, that was hilarious ... even I saw the funny side in the end.
After saying to someone earlier I needed to get some fresh air, I set off with good intentions.
I hadn't quite realised that what I was really going to do was tour the county and find just about every closed bridge and road. I had intended to walk Ambleside/Langdale way and call in to the Mountain Rescue which was having an open day today to find out what happened in the end (see the video). I got stuck in Kendal traffic on the way there. It started to snow heavily so I thought I'd head back before it got too bad but Kirkstone was closed. I headed back the long way but thought I'd sneak by Burneside .... another closed road and so I then got stuck in Kendal on the way back (lots of bridges out of action ... poor Kendal, it's a bit desperate). Heading back via a friend's I got diverted off a perfectly good road onto one that looked like the Cresta run, pure white, compacted snow and ice, steep gradient with a curve at the bottom ... brilliant .... Eddie the Eagle ... here I come ... once down it I arrived at the ford! I just had to stop and take a blip (extra) ... it was at this point I realised I was symbolically living out Coelho's, The Pilgrimage and that my walk would be more or less from the doorstep I had left a few hours before. The snow was beautiful, muffled and quiet, and although I had a slightly freaky last few miles getting back, including a skid, I knew I would be able to walk home from here!

By the way .... in the end the Mountain Rescue team were winched to safety by air rescue. They had got all the passengers on the bus to safety. Hoorah for the Mountain Rescue, what heroes they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.