OUR HOUSE

Not much to shoot today.  So here is the front of the house.  Those are Vine Maples across the front.  They are a lot prettier in the summer and fall.  Extra is Rummikub.  The game we cannot stop playing.
After posting this, I woke up at three in the morning with this running through my head.  While we were building the house, we took some time off and took a trip to the beach.  I saw a guy shingling a house there.  So I stopped in and asked him where he got his shingles.  He gave me the number of a fellow in Forks, Washington.  He ran a one man shingle mill.  I called the man, made the deal, and made arrangements to pick them up.  We borrowed my sons truck, rented a trailer, threw in my little back pack tent.  And we were off.  Grandma and I.
These shingles come from old growth Western Red Cedar trees in the national forest.  They are all trees that have blown  down.  Crews hike in and cut the shingle bolts.  Helicopters fly in with large totes, and fly out with them filled.  This are delivered to the mill, and cut into shingles.  No knots......Premium!
So, we loaded up, and headed to a hot springs for a dip.  Then headed back south along the Hood Canal.  I knew of a little county park there that had camping.  It was Friday night and dark when we got there.  It was full of people.  I would call them local mill worker type families.  I pulled in and rolled the window down.  This large, very pregnant woman waddled out, followed by a half a dozen dirty little munchkins.  She said that if we wanted to camp, we could pull in right next to them.  Always room for one more she says.  So I pulled in.  Her husband comes over to welcome us.  He asked what I was going to do with all those shingles.  I replied, build a house.  He turned around to all of his beer drinking buddies, and yelled,  "We are going to have us a bonfire tonight!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.