The Blue of a Blue

I got away this morning when Lisa took our neighbor Faye to coffee hour. How can you go to a coffee hour if you don't drink coffee? I went to the seashore.

I was on my way to a big nature preserve when I saw some construction vehicles hard at work. I thought..."Oh no, another huge subdivision!" But noooo...the sign read...Robinson Preserve...Phase 3. Woo hoo...another 150 acres added to an already huge tract of land. Now, if more birds would just discover the place.

I ended up at my favorite fish market, where you can generally count on seeing some shorebirds. I wish I could have got a nice blue sky backdrop for this guy, but the background is of metal shelves where they stack boxes of fish. Still, it is always a thrill to be 6-8 feet away from these wonderful birds.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124969130@N06/albums/72157663151839660 For the first time in a long time...I actually had enough shots I liked to have a Flickr set. Have a look. My alternate Blip shot would have been the pelican with the twisty neck.

We just got back from an old fashioned church hymn sing. It's sort of strange to be in the midst of maybe 950 people, and at age 62...we were probably the youngest people there.

It made me feel like a Spring chicken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.