madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Port Elliot Day 2

This is a very belated backblip from august!!! Thought I had done it but nope!
So - day 2!!! I had to look at flickr album to remember and oh how lovely it was to remember! Chatted to friends from the village over breakfast and then heard Margaret Drabble talk! Much to my surprise I actually asked her a question as she was talking about how she archives her emails for prosperity - there had been a discussion in the news about having access to writers correspondence after their death, when it was their wishes it was to be burnt. It raised questions about who owned their words and the need to know every detail of their lives to understand their writings of any given period. I also wondered who owns a letter - the person who wrote it or the recipient? Anyway, I asked her what she felt and she was happy for all to have access!
After this I had lobster and bubbly for lunch with yet more friends from the village! After this we looked at the servants quarters and cake, preserves and flower arrangements - so much antique stuff just hiding in corners - apparently the house have rooms full of stuff just waiting to be sorted! Oh how I wish I could do that for them!!
In the early evening we saw The Fisherman's Friends - a group of fishermen from Port Isaac, Cornwall who started as a local group of friends singing shanties  together and now are world renown! They are such a rich sounding and very dry group for fishermenn! The next few hours were spent listening to world sounds and an energetic Bhangra set in the main tent! Great light effects! 
Whole day here! Can't wait to do it all over again in 2016!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.