Poppies

After church Jewelz and I took a trip to the Yorkshire Sculpture park to see the remembrance poppies 'The Wave'. Today was the last day to see them. I'm glad we went but by the time we got there we'd missed most of the light. It was a very muddy walk down, and cold.
I took a number of photos and as the light faded I thought "no trouble, I'll get my flash out and could get some interesting shots that way" But…the batteries were dead and I somehow seem to have taken the spare batteries out of my camera bag! :/
I resorted to taking a couple flash shots with my phone. Not quite the same!

Leaving the park became quite a trauma though!
I thought I'd walk up the path leading from the bridge thinking it would be quicker, easier and more direct!
It turned out that the 'path' was more like a river bed and very uneven and Jewelz was struggling particularly in the dark. So I headed into the field to the right, keeping the building in my sight. No problem….or so I thought!
It turned out it was the wrong building and no way round it to the car park I needed … and instead of having lots of time I now only had 15mins until the car park was locked! No one was around…..no one. Not visitors…not park guides. No one! And it was now pitch black! And Jewelz was walking VERY slow! 
I ended up calling Cathie, who searched the internet for maps to tell me which way to go (and who was able to calm me down!). I then finally saw a guy looked like he was locking gates. He showed me a way through some private buildings and met me in the car park I needed. 
Ahhh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.