Plus ça change...

By SooB

Up on the roof

We don't have that many planes that fly right over the house, but every day at about 5.30, there's this one. One day I'll look up where it's going.

Anyway, that has nothing to do with my day, other than I only took this photo and one of a basketball holiday schedule, and I thought you might like this more. I nearly took a photo of the super-gorgeous ochre moon tonight, with wispy clouds floating over it... But my phone couldn't cope and I was having too interesting a conversation with CarbBoy to go in and get the grown up camera.

Earlier, my arm's insistence that yesterday's painting was quite enough for this month cut no ice with me. So I painted regardless. And climbed on the roof too. Before this, a trip to buy paint, where I got lucky in the sales, and another visit from the heating guy to measure up. I'm aware that I'm telling today a bit upside-down.

Later, after CarbBoy's late basketball training, the kind of dinner conversation with the kids that makes you wish dinner could have started earlier. TallGirl has her first 'mock' Brevet tomorrow and was therefore full of history questions. I'm going to gloss over her perpetual confusion between Guy Fawkes and Robbie Burns (what?) because she remembered spontaneously the name of a plotter against Elizabeth I (well, nearly: in my view "Mallard, or something to do with a duck" is very close to Ballard...) CarbBoy was similarly full of history questions - Mr B will be furious when he hears he missed that, and also wanted to discuss refugees, which they learned about today in school. I'm not sure I helped - I may have added layers of complexity his teacher was trying to avoid.

Tomorrow, well let's just say my arm is not going to be happy with my to do list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.