SarahClem

By SC26

Torch

Today I got up at the crazy hour of 5.50am to go and see the Olympic Torch pass through Colchester. I went with Laura, Ellie and my Mum and we stood just outside the castle for about an hour and a half in the pouring rain waiting for it to arrive. Our waterproofs stopped being waterproof very quickly, and we were soaked by the time it made a very speedy appearance. We all agreed it was well worth it though, and there was a really good atmosphere and crowds despite the rain.

Afterwards, we all bundled in to the Minories to get out of the rain and for a well deserved breakfast. Predictably the sun came out in the afternoon, so Ellie, G and I took a trip to Ipswich to have a swim in the lovely (if slightly strange) Fore Street pool and wander round the shops.

A serious slump followed when we got back home, but I quickly got a second wind when two friends came over for dinner and the wine started to flow. We had an excellent evening having a proper catch up and getting excited about their wedding in just two weeks time! I think I finally got to sleep about 2am, with significantly less voice than I had at the start of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.