The cheeky one

I flew to Palmy this morning. Palmerston North gets a bad rap, but I reckon its location has a lot going for it.

It's only a couple of hours from the Central Plateau, so real mountains are in reach. The even closer Tararua and Ruahine ranges provide plenty of tramping and hunting opportunities too. The sea isn't far away, and whatever fresh water the dairy industry hasn't destroyed, provides good fishing. I can't think of anything else you'd need :-)

But I digress from this fine specimen of a second cousin. Travis was a bonus I didn't expect to see as he lives in Berlin these days. He's funny, cheeky, thoughtful, and has intelligent well thought out opinions. He reminds me of my Sydney nephew in so many ways. Their shared mannerisms and cheek is spooky.

Travis is the best barista, and I savoured every coffee he brewed. Coffee but not as we know it, is his business in Berlin. I'm sure one day we will know a lot more. He's a clever dude as is his business partner.

He was worried he'd mis-kick and take my teeth out. I had faith, and hoped his Dad would sort my teeth if it his kick went to custard. Fortunately we didn't need to test the theory and the ball flew through the uprights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.