Cats & Mockingbirds

I finished reading the great book To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. It's cathartic for me because I've watched the film all my life and I love it, but I never got around to the book itself, which (as one would expect) has a world of material not touched in the movie.

I played the film and the interviews with its actors afterward, and all of it is very enlightening. For example, the actor for Bob Ewell was really a creepy, racist-type fellow (as is the character) and the other actors disliked him plenty.

The film could not have been better created, but the book is so much more intense, its characters so much more complicated, and it has many characters who are not seen in the film. What a treat this was!

Carlo (kissing my hand) observed that cats are mentioned just once: Jem (on the screen) passes on a rumor that Boo Radley eats all the cats he can catch (but it's not true).

The huge surprise is that in the book, Boo Radley has a line, and it was left out of the film! It was so touching, I was just just amazed. In the final scene he says to Scout, "Will you take me home?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.