There and back again

By Mikes

The end of an era

Some of you may have noticed that today the last Landrover Defender rolled off the production line. Some 2,000,000 had been made and there was still thousand's on the order books, killed off by EU health and safety rules.
The Landrover was born it is said on the 20th April 1948. The designer  Maurice Wilks took most of the design from the American "Jeep", famous from WWII.  I first came across it while I was in the Marines..
My first Landrover was a Defender 110 Estate with which I soon found that the smooth power it had,  was due to the very thirsty V8 petrol engine which soon brought our love affair to an end.
In about 2000 we needed a second car and my Series 2A (looked very much like the first model ( see above) came into my  life as my personal transport. Low insurance and no road tax gave me several years of great pleasure. Driving it on cold mornings would get you wet through by condensation dropping off the  INSIDE of the roof ! It had to be a love affair to want a "landy".  and not minding the bills for the welding on it to get it through the MOT.  Would I have one again ?  What do you think

Do you know that the first car seen by a third of the population of the world was a Landrover !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.