Take-Away

Bought a Chinese take-away dinner for tonight.  It'll be enough till tomorrow.  Shot these at the restaurant.  Don't know what they are but they looked pretty.

The usual hobbies, the usual housework ... and the usual winter weather.  Plus my second book is being processed right now, and I've started my poetry again for the third.  Sharing one of my ghazals with you ...

Bright Light Ghazal

Every time you are in my mind, I imagine your eyes, their bright light.
That is all that I can do, compare them to the stars' bright light.

When I am in bed and the darkness has covered me, it seems enough.
A ghost could enter the room, but no, I will not turn on my night light.

In the morning, the planets will have moved again from their positions.
Somewhere, a child will emerge from the warmth to a world of white light.

Come spring, the geese who escaped the cold will return in V-formations.
Their feathers will gather the winds and bear their weight, quite light.

The air is always full of magic!  I don't think anyone will care to disagree!
Yet, we never fully trust our eyes.   We see only a little ahead, a slight light.

Even airplanes need eyes, especially at night, to navigate the stars, comets.
As passengers settle down to nap, the pilots turn on their flight lights.

As for you, daughter, one day faraway, we will meet at some street corner.
There might not be any recognition, though, even with the noon's bright light.

Sharing Carlos Nakai as well.  He has been keeping me company for about a week now.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.