Storm Henry

2 ropey photos here ...
I grabbed the tiny bit of light left to look at Ullswater as I headed home.
It was wild.
The extra is of the rainbow clouds that I saw heading back from Court Thorn. By the time I pulled over to take a photo they were disappearing behind that dark cloud ... I gather they are rather rare Nacreous clouds ... see Corvid Fiesta's blip and Penally1's.

By the lake I was reminded of the King Lear storm speech ... I remember emerging from the cinema in Leicester Square where I had been on my own when I was about 17 to see the stark black and white Peter Brook version of King Lear, which I was studying at the time. The contrast of the film and coming out into the bright afternoon sun in Leicester Square was startling and has probably seared one of my most vivid memories.

Blow, winds, and crack your cheeks! rage! blow!
You cataracts and hurricanoes, spout
Till you have drench’d our steeples, drown’d the cocks!
You sulphurous and thought-executing fires,
Vaunt-couriers to oak-cleaving thunderbolts,
Singe my white head! And thou, all-shaking thunder,
Smite flat the thick rotundity o’ the world!
Crack nature’s moulds, an germens spill at once,
That make ingrateful man!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.