Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Life in the Fast Lane!

What an active day! I didn't sit in the sofa until the sun was well over the yardarm. See what a bit of sunshine and no howling gales does!

Julie came to pick up Archie about 10am, to the usual manic welcome, except this time he also sat like a parrot on her shoulder for ages. But I wasn't ready with my phone.

I popped down to the National Library to see an exhibition called 'Plague'. Very interesting, and really well done, with big creaking wooden doors to open revealing the artifacts inside. Including leprosied hands, syphillic septums, and other things in bottles that I didn't dare read to find out.

As it's a nice muzac-free cafe, I indulged in a cuppa and scone while listening to Radio 4 on my phone. It was such a nice day I had a wander round the High Street and Victoria Street. I reasoned that I should really make the most of such lovely weather when it's here. But I got weary, and hopped on the next bus home.

Yes. I went to the pool again! Lo and behold - it was practically empty! What a treat. One lady was sailing up and down the middle of the slow lane with her float, so I commandeered the empty 'fast lane'. I managed to do ten (25yd) lengths. A year or so ago I used to do twenty (50yd) lengths in the Commonwealth Pool. But it's all relative.

In the afternoon, when Archie came back, our young Kiwi friend came for a visit and we all went up the Hill. Archie will sleep tonight - what an action packed day he's had.

So will I, come to that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.