Stewartby Brickworks

Iconic landmark around this area, hubby was driving by the chimneys today and thought they would make a good blip.
London Brickwork Company built the village of Stewartby for its workers. They've long since been taken over by Hansons but there is a preservation order on the remaining chimneys.

When I lived and grew up in Old Warden, our next door neighbours were more like family. Ron worked for London Brick for a time and in fact when he died his wife Mary moved back to Stewartby as she was entitled to one of the alms houses in the village.

Seeing this reminded me of my childhood and how wonderful it was being able to run in next door as a child to see them, or help old Harry prepare the vegetables for dinner, shell the homegrown peas!! (Marys father who house I eventually bought when I grew up)

For these lovely memories I am truly grateful :)

100DG/15

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.