Plus ça change...

By SooB

Chandeleur

Pancake Day came early this year, when I finally succumbed to pressure from the kids and started a new family tradition of celebrating Chandeleur. This festival, on the date of Christ being taken to the Temple, probably incorporates an earlier festival celebrating the sun's return after the depths of midwinter.

Well, any celebration that involves maple syrup is ok by me, though the star of Chandeleur gouter was definitely the bergamot lemons.

In other news; more accounts and some extremely messy cleaning work upstairs. I'm trying not to feel intimidated by the fact that there are are STILL large areas of the house that have not been cleaned for 30 years. One day... Today I was mainly glad that there is no artificial light upstairs, so I couldn't see the detail of the 'things' I was sweeping up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.