TrishaR

By TrishaR

South Inch

I took a day off today. Just fancied a long weekend finishing on Wednsday and back on Monday. Just a day pleasing myself what I did. Took Breagha an early walk on the South Inch and then breakfast in Nero again. I usually sit in the window seat and Breagha lies and watches who comes in the door. First person in that spoke was a French lady who had 2 Ridgebacks (not with her) and we chatted mostly about how good it was to have our furry friends with us after a walk, she runs a B and B and allows dogs to stay too (why wouldn't you) and how uptight some places are regarding thinking that dogs bring germs which is crazy talk as I don't think when out and about I've ever caught anything from a dog but sure any cold etc I have is from some human spreading their germs!! France is laid back and as long as dogs aren't in the kitchen then they are allowed anywhere. Good chat.

Then the guy in the next seat thought I was speaking to myself when I asked Breagha if she wanted a drink, haha then brought her over a couple of treats. He has a bull mastiff and I got it's story. He was supposed to be meeting the Editor from the local paper but she hadn't appeared... Then the next lady who sat down in that seat had a conversation with me about her brothers german shepherd after Breagha had sneakied up to say hello to her. Another good chat.

There was a crash from the next table up which was a guy dropping his shopping on his coffee, and was assisted by a woman who had just come through the door who gave him one of her plastic bags as his had burst. She saw Breagha and came and chatted and showed me pictures of her Westie who was 14 telling me she used to sit outdoors at Nero with her in the cold and how good it was to be indoors with the dogs now. I told her to sit down in the seat next to me as her friend hadn't turned up, but meanwhile the guy that dropped her shopping was on the way out and we all had a chat about mobile phones as he had just got a new iPhone 6 after having a bad experience with the Galaxy he had always cutting out.

The westie lady was away to Australia tomorrow and she had tears in her eyes leaving her dog behind, first time in years that she had done that.

Seems like sometimes in there it's like a social club but you know what, before I took Breagha in there was never the same contact that there is now. Most people who pass her by smile at her then stop and clap her which she loves. If we are walking past and no going in she pulls to go in there- so funny.

Came home and decided to clear out some junk - is that called minimilising.... Anyone who knows how to do that successfully please let me know:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.