rain forced play

To my mind rain always stops play as I like to be out and about hanging around under the big beautiful sky.

Alas, the rain lashed down all day and we had no car to even tootle off to visit friends so..... we played. We played a lot. Eve invented the game (invented by every child since time began) where you have to make your way around the house without walking on the floor. A lot of muslin squares were dotted about the place to make any sort of movement possible.

After Zeke's ridiculously long nap we baked melting moments which make me think of my Mum and my big sister and (strangely enough) Terry Wogan (because the first time I remember eating them was Children in Need night 1989, possibly 1990). Eve loved rolling the dough in the oats and squishing the biscuits on the tray. She tried to make a fast getaway for tidy up time but returned and mournfully declared that "you can't be helpful at eating time if you're not helpful at making time". She said this in my exact voice. This made me laugh until I nearly wet myself. She was rewarded with the number one fun job of hoovering up all of the spilt flour and oats from under the table which is basically ecstasy if you're 3 years old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.