Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2016 Thursday -- New Bedroom

This is the master bedroom, the only bedroom in the main portion of the house. A private guest bedroom with bathroom is downstairs.

We haven't purchased new bedroom furniture since remodeling our coast house. When we entered construction, I was determined that new furniture would be an immediate addition as soon as we moved back into the house.

Then we moved in and purchased the dining room furniture and found the delivery to be a headache and a hassle, and I lost momentum. We did purchase a new very comfortable queen-size mattress and foundation. I haven't found the bed spread that I want (and I'm not very concerned that I haven't). I have purchased a couple of bedding items and when I got them back to the house, I realized they were not what I wanted, so I returned them.

We are very pleased with the larger new bedroom. The room is a couple feet wider and several feet longer. We now have a closet with mirrored sliding doors (the previous one was in the bathroom and was seriously two feet by two feet).

Not visible in these photos is the space just beyond the closet for the two dog crates, one stacked on top of the other; our three little dogs sleep in these at night. The crates fit perfectly in that location.

The double doors exit into the front sunset room. When the doors are open and we sit in bed in the morning having coffee, the view is all ocean. Because the bedroom is now longer, the builders added a second window that was being eliminated from another part of the house. From those two windows we have a view of Morro Rock, the distinctive PG&E power plant, and Point Buchan.

The windows have temporary accordian pull-down shades. A clothes pin holds them to the bottom of the window at night or when we are gone for several hours. I'm not sure what permanent coverings I want, so I'll keep looking/searching till some design causes me to think, "Ahh, that's it!"

Through the doorway next to the bed is the master bathroom. I have previously blipped that beautiful room with the double-shower heads and clear glass doors. It also has a exit door to the back yard patio.

So, that is another edition to the story of our coastal house; once a shack, now a cottage.

from California's Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.