Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Escape

"All the best stories are but one story in reality - the story of escape. It is the only thing which interests us all and at all times, how to escape."
A. C. Benson

Shortly after this picture was taken I ran away. I say ran away but I was actually running to. Well, running.

I could hear aprecious' voice in the background - sort of - so I wasn't concerned at all about getting lost. I was just having a lot of fun running through the long grass, and stuff.

aprecious called but rather than go back I thought I'd run a bit more. And a bit more! Such freedom. I had escaped!

What is it about owners and leads? What is it about owners and foiling escapes? That aprecious, such a spoil sport! She said - nonchalantly - that she wasn't bothered, she knew I'd come back. Eventually.

What do I have to escape from?

Was thinking yesterday about the amazing TV dramas I watched as a child - The Didakoi, Catweazle, Carrie's War, Lizzie Dripping, Striker and so on. These, and others along with reading, were such a great escape for me. How do children escape the real world today (if they need to)?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.