Woodpecker

I was stalking the woodpeckers at the suet feeder - but they were too spooked for me.  I thought I would get a good shot eventually but it was not to be.  This was my favorite of a bad bunch - I used Lightroom to get it somewhat recognizable - I think it isn't too bad.

The extra is my Grandparents on my wedding day - February 13th, 1993.  It was taken by my Wedding photographer (Athena Starr in Columbia SC) 

 My grandmother passed away last night in her sleep.  She was well 91 years old.  She had declined in her later years and I had an opportunity to witness first hand the "socialized medicine" of Denmark - it is fantastic.

My grandmother was funny, smart, opinionated and kind.  She was an expert at creating a welcoming, cozy place for her family.  I was an outsider who broke the rules and she never made me feel it.  She never made you feel bad for who you were; she tried to find a comfortable place for you regardless.  She excelled at creating a home.

She had a sharp mind with a quick sense of humor who found the dry wit in political debate.  She was able to find the laugh without putting people down to do it.   Her laugh was loud and full - I picture her over coffee laughing with my Mom over something - her head thrown back with the full enjoyment of the moment.

She was a lady.  She loved me and I am so glad to have had her in my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.