DawnAgain

By DawnAgain

Bored

A double whammy of cold and wet today and the dogs have (so far) gone without a walk. I was up and out early myself this morning and drove through sleet to Winchester for a presentation skills workshop. It was really good and I learned quite a few new things. We all had to participate in various ways throughout the workshop and, in my case, this involved reading cold to the group a prepared (by the tutor) speech on a subject I knew nothing about. Apparently my public speaking from a script is excellent, particularly my use of intonation and pauses. Who knew? I got a round of applause at the end and when I went to the loo during the break three girls there at the same time took the trouble to say how well I did. As part of doing a PhD is presenting your research to people and as I now have something to share I'm going to start putting myself about a bit, starting gently with the research symposium at the university in April.

I'm quite tired now after a late night last night. Son2 is recovering from a party and late night (which was the cause of my late night), Son1 is on his way back from a friend's as I type, following a trip up to Camden last night to see a band, and Mr DawnAgain is out watching a football match. Rather him than me! Three of us are off now for Half Term and looking forward to catching up with people and things next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.