An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

By the Flickering Light of a TV

Salisbury Cathedral cloisters, very early this morning. So early, it was dark. 

Better with dark background, go LARGE!

The visitor entrance to the cathedral is that warmly light bright bit at the end.

I'm standing at a far corner of the Cloisters looking back towards it. There's a looped programme about the Magna Carta showing on a TV screen just to my side. It is gently flickering out a soft light. It was too dark to actually see the dark parts in the viewfinder, so I had to mainly guess - and take lots of shots. 

Of course, I had to remedy a fair bit in editing, plus a lot of shadow extraction, as the exposure had to be set to the brightest part of the image. 

It also goes to show that if you have a bright new shiny lens that performs well at wide apertures, (here at just f2 ) - your search for subjects extends into the almost ridiculous! 

I lost most of yesterday. 

I returned home at 9.30 a.m. from Cafe Nero after big hot chocolate (a treat as it so bleedin' freezin') and within an hour I had to go to bed, not waking until midnight! I'd very soon got a migraine of biblical proportions, was sweating like a pig in a sauna and despite of Imigran and painkillers just got worse!

So, rather out of sorts today, hence the early excursion to the cathedral and maybe some sunshine that's forecast much later this afternoon! And to catch up with you all too, of course (hopefully...)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.