Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Back To The Ceiling

I was delayed in starting a job outside the house, so I decided to get to that living room ceiling here where I live. Aside from being over 100 years old, there isn't much to say about the room. But when You've spent many years in a house, you notice the little things. The present example is that the seams, or lines of interruption if you like, in the ceiling and floor show where there once was another seperate room within this larger one. The whole house was originally designed as a rooming house, having six bedrooms, each with its own bath and an extra bath on the ground floor. I wonder if this extra room by the entrance was for the roomers to sit with their visitors, but perhaps it was for either the landlady or a concierge to watch over all the comings & goings. I probably won't know any time soon.

[EDIT: Working on the room again I determined that there was also a small restroom where the window is (at left) in the original design. That is almost the only examples painted woodwork in the house.]

Here is what the far end of the room looked like before I started fixing things up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.