Bumps in the Road

By JimJ

Berwick Street Market

Waking up at 4am, I had to pay Edmonton County Court a visit today. Almost two and a half years after renting out my Tottenham home, I'm still chasing former tenants for their rent arrears. At least the judge is on my side...

I spent the afternoon meandering through Soho, rekindling the charm from my three and a half years in London.

Berwick Street Market was always one of my favourite spots despite it's gradual gentrification. The market, which dates from 1778, attracts only a fraction of the trade that it drew in its heyday after the Second World War, when the market was known for offering "exotic" foods such as olive oil that were then unavailable on high streets. Unfortunately only a handful of traders now survive in an area and the Westminster council are hoping to further regenerate the historic but struggling Berwick Street market.

I'm sure our baby will one day walk these streets. I wonder what they'll look like then...?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.