The Daily Mynci

By Funkymynci

Charity Shop Bargain

I picked up an old Tokina 60-300mm lens in a charity shop for £10 at the weekend.  We've been trying to shoot birdlife in the garden, but my puny 150mm lens doesn't quite cut it, so decided to splash out on this chunky piece of vintage glass.  Just had to wait for my £10 MD to MFT adapter to arrive from Amazon and now got a 600mm equivalent zoom with the crop-factor on my Panasonic.  One day I'll manage to save up £300 for the more elegant and petite panasonic 100-300mm autofocus lens, but for now this £20 combo will do the trick.

It was too dark for birds when the adapter arrived tonight, but luckily there was a moon.  I've blown this up about 100 times from the original, so quite impressed with the quality of this old lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.