take it away Sam ….

…oh - someone already has.

Spent the morning at MK hospital to get my heart scan results.  Have now been referred to the electro-cardiology team at the John Radcliffe in Oxford; seems another cardio-ablation is on the table.  As will I be, if it goes ahead.

It also turns out that my cholesterol is high; I am now advised to take statins.  I don’t get it - I’ve been a veggie for 8 months and my cholesterol has actually gone up.  

The consultant suggests that diet plays only a small part in determining overall cholesterol levels and  goes on to imply, with a degree of caution - I assume for fear of upsetting manufacturers of ‘low-fat‘ spreads - that genetics is probably a bigger factor.

It’s lunchtime as we walk back from the hospital and we pass a pub advertising the ‘biggest burger you can eat’.  Anniemay looks at it and says “well - we might as well now …..”

We don’t; but we do have fish and chips (triple -cooked) for tea.  I throw caution to the wind with a dollop of fresh Hollandaise sauce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.