Great walk!

Decided to try to find the old paths at a county park that the county decided to shut down about 5 yrs ago. Apparently (the whole area is considered "multi-use") they let the parking lot go wild and it is now 3 feet high in grasses and the paths are half there and I guess only there at all  because they are mostly used by hunters. There was a secondary loop that ran through an old apple orchard we couldn't find and we're afraid it is too overgrown . I saw my first rose breasted grosbeak down there. Sigh. But the main part of the trail is still there and we found this flock of cedar waxwings. Later on the trail I saw the 4th brown creeper I have ever seen ( couldn't catch it on film , it kept ducking behind the tree as it went up). The big excitement of the day was the eagles nest, complete with roosting eagle! Posting that later this week on a day when I won't be able to get the camera out. I can't believe we spotted it ! Absolutely wonderful walk even though I was sad that we couldn't find the old trail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.