SueScape

By SueScape

Lavender Blue, dilly dilly

Lavender's blue, dilly dilly,
Lavender's green
When you are king, dilly dilly,
I'll be your queen

Who told you so, dilly dilly,
Who told you so?
'Twas my own heart, dilly dilly,
That told me so

English folk song and nursery rhyme dating to the seventeenth century.

I hear this song in my mind every year when I see lavender. Mum and Dad had a recording of this as well as the sheet music when I was but a teeny tiny girl hanging on their every word. I still get a warm feeling when I hear it, maybe even especially because I found my own King who makes me feel like a Queen. We met 50 years ago this month and have been married for 45 of those years come September. You can all go 'woweeeee' because I can't believe it either!

Friends' garden, not ours sadly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.