Kate and Anna McGarrigle

I was walking in the Italianate Garden here at Soup Mansions (!) and I spotted this. For some unaccountable reason it got me thinking about the wonderful McGarrigle sisters, and in particular their albums from the 1970s - "Kate and Anna McGarrigle" and "Dancer with Bruised Knees". I duly listened to "Heart Like a Wheel" from the first album - what can I say? - sublime. Give them a listen.

The sadness continued with the Unthanks ("Here's the Tender Coming" and "Annachie Gordon") and Eva Cassidy ("Time After Time" and "Songbird").

Some sort of respite from depression was provided by the creator of "Vintage Violence" and "Slow Dazzle" (see last two blips) - John Cale. You too can sing along to John's upbeat take on "Venus in Furs" here

Just before I went off for a reviving cuppa I watched Anthony performing "If It Be Your Will" - amazing - here


PS I feel better now, I've listed to "You Got The Love" by The Source featuring Candi Staton...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.