Back in town

…Not me, but the curlews are back in the fields and the siskin has returned to the feeder.  

I’m wondering if the curlews are starting to eye up the moors again for breeding as I haven’t seen them around for many weeks.  I don’t remember the last time I saw a siskin in the garden so that was a nice treat too - she came in with the goldfinches but stayed much longer than them.  The trees were alive with bird song today and it was rather wondrous to be out and about in it with Little Dog.

Later in the day, I was out on my bike again - not too far but squeezed in two hills.  A fit chap overtook me on the way up the Otley hill and thought I was capable of having a chat.  

Uphill!  A chat!

I steeled myself and actually didn’t do too badly. Luckily, it was past the steep section.  He was a lovely fellow to actually stop and cycle a while but he didn’t hang around once he took off again.  I wish I had that gear!  

My tyres were pumped up today, I had one less layer and the headwind had subsided.  On my bike was a fine place to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.