Place de la Bastille

A quick capture as we were leaving a lovely concert (all too short) of Lieder set to works by the German poet Heinrich Heine  (1797-1856), at a small auditorium in Paris's Bastille opera house.  The evening was organized by a master class at the Académie de l'Opéra Nationale de Paris; six singers and three pianists participated.  I especially enjoyed the songs by Franz Schubert and Hugo Wolf. I first learned German in college and ended up majoring in it--always enjoyable to experience it again. (In fact I used it to some degree in virtually all of the patchwork of jobs I've held.)  Edit:  I've added an extra photo of the performers at the concert.

My first Bastille blip was 10 days after I joined the site, on 10 February 2010 (though it did not show the Place itself).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.