World UNESCO Site: Belltower, Douai, France

As it turned out, hubby had a bridge appointment this afternoon, which he had almost forgotten because he had his days mixed up, which was because he didn't play bridge last Tuesday evening, which was because we ate out.  In short, he was out by 12.45, and I was out by 13.30.

There was absolutely no traffic so I hit the French-Belgian border by 15.15 and then drove to the area between Arras and Henin in search of Agincourt.  The place must be so tiny that there isn't even any sign indicating it, plus it's not on the map, plus nobody could tell me where it was.  I had studied the Route Planner carefully at home.  Oh well ...

In the meantime, we're talking 16.15-16.30 and the sun was starting to lose altitude, so I thought why not just go to nearby Douai and shoot the famous belltower!  It's actually the prettiest structure there and obviously stands out.  On my way out of the town, I drove by the museum and that was a pretty building, too, so took some shots.

I have used today's blip also for this past week's Flickr Weekly Alphabet Challenge - H for Highlight.

I intend to return tomorrow, actually, because after this weekend, it's back to work and the weather will turn sour again.

Head cold a lot less of a bother.  In fact, I could already notice my nose clearing as I was falling asleep last night.  I had also more energy today.  Or was that only because the weather was so good?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.