Infirmary Memories

Among the artwork along the North Corridor of the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh, where we were visiting today, I identified with this panel. 

It is part of the Inscribables exhibition by Shauna Mcmullan, who asked members of staff from the old infirmary on Lauriston Place "what lasting memory or impression of your old workplace would you like to take with you to the New Royal Infirmary?"


In the late 1990's I worked for a while in the Infirmary and the medical school next door and my memories are much the same (apart from the scent, which I can't detect) and I recall the planting of the daffodils which now grace the verge of Middle Meadow Walk in Spring - though I was sure they were planting crocus.

The new infirmary does not have the cherry trees, but a little stream running through the site is a small compensation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.