sendfrancis

By sendfrancis

Cyberjaya Scenery

Work today was at the Cyberjaya campus. I have mixed feelings about this artificial town. It's got enough greenery along its roads, but it's otherwise a pretentious concrete jungle; forests constantly being cleared away to build featureless and uninteresting buildings for various tech industries.

It's got good variety, though. The place brings together many races: locals as well as foreigners. I like that, I get edgy when dealing with homogeneity. I can't stand to be among people of any one race for more than 10 minutes. Watched Zootopia at the cinema here after work. I think it's a decent treatise on diversity. It maintained a good pace while discussing and highlighting various issues on the matter: stereotypes and generalisations, birds of a feather flocking together, and bullying and rejection. One issue I found highlighted but not addressed enough was the effects of prejudice based bullying: members of the bullied community frequently rise up against the bullying but so very often over-compensate and take it too far that the whole point of the battle, struggle and protest is lost or tainted. Simple example: gay pride events. The effort to assert the existence and rights of gay people (and diversity) certainly isn't helped by participants marching naked and / or devil horns on their gaudily painted faces. It certainly is a pattern I notice, when communities are suppressed they blow up. I guess hate and non-acceptance causes ugliness even in the process of liberation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.